Convening Lead Authors Announced for the National Climate Assessment (Dec. 6, 2011) Print


The following Convening Lead Authors have been announced for the National Climate Assessment 2013 Report.  

A PDF document of the list can be found here: PDF


1.    Introduction


2.    Climate Change Science

Don Wuebbles, University of Illinois

John Walsh, University of Alaska Fairbanks


3.    Water Resources

Paul Fleming, Seattle Public Utilities

Aris Georgakakos, Georgia Institute of Technology


4.    Energy Supply and Use

Jan Dell, CH2MHill Consulting

Susan Tierney, Analysis Group Consultants


5.    Transportation

Michael Meyer, Georgia Institute of Technology

Gerry Schwartz, HGS Consultants, LLC


6.    Agriculture

Jerry Hatfield, United States Department of Agriculture

Gene Takle, Iowa State University


7.    Forestry

Linda Joyce, United States Forest Service

Steve Running, University of Montana


8.    Ecosystems and Biodiversity

Peter Groffman, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies

Peter Kareiva, The Nature Conservancy


9.    Human Health

Kim Knowlton, Natural Resources Defense Council and Columbia University

George Luber, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention


10.    Water, Energy, Land Use

Kathy Hibbard, Pacific Northwest National Lab

Tom Wilson, Electric Power Research Institute


11.    Urban, Infrastructure, Vulnerability

Susan Cutter, University of South Carolina

Bill Solecki, Hunter College of City University of New York


12.    Impacts of Climate Change on Tribal, Indigenous and Native Lands and Resources

Bull Bennett, Kiksapa Consulting, LLC

Nancy Maynard, National Aeronautics and Space Administration


13.    Land Use, Land Cover Change

Dan Brown, University of Michigan

Colin Polsky, Clark University


14.    Rural Communities, Agriculture, and Development

David Hales, College of the Atlantic (Emeritus)

Bill Hohenstein, United States Department of Agriculture


15.    Biogeochemical Cycles, with Implications for Ecosystems and Biodiversity

Jim Galloway, University of Virginia

William Schlesinger, Cary Institute for Ecosystem Studies


16.    Northeast Region

Radley Horton, Columbia University and National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Gary Yohe, Wesleyan University


17.    Southeast and Caribbean Region

Lynne Carter, Louisiana State University

Jim Jones, University of Florida


18.    Midwest Region

Sara Pryor, University of Indiana

Don Scavia, University of Michigan


19.    Great Plains Region

Dennis Ojima, Colorado State University

Mark Shafer, Oklahoma Climatological Survey


20.    Southwest Region

Guido Franco, California Energy Commission

Gregg Garfin, University of Arizona


21.    Northwest Region

Phil Mote, Oregon State University

Amy Snover, University of Washington


22.    Alaska and Arctic Region

F. Stewart (Terry) Chapin, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Sarah Trainor, University of Alaska Fairbanks


23.    Hawaii and Pacific Islands Region

Jo-Ann Leong, University of Hawaii

John Marra, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration


24.    Oceans and Marine Resources

Andy Rosenberg, Conservation International


25.    Coastal Zone, Development, and Ecosystems

Margaret Davidson, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Susi Moser, Susanne Moser Research & Consulting and Stanford University


26.    Mitigation and Adaptation

Rosina Bierbaum, University of Michigan

Arthur Lee, Chevron Corporation

Joel Smith, Stratus Consulting


27.    Agenda for Climate Change Science

Tony Janetos, Joint Global Change Research Institute and Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Diana Liverman, University of Arizona


28.    The Sustained Assessment

Maria Blair, American Cancer Society

John Hall, United States Department of Defense

Bob Corell, Center for Energy and Climate Solutions