Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Fifth National Climate Assessment - Read the Report


USGCRP Lines of Oversight and coordination. Click to enlarge.

USGCRP comprises 15 federal agencies that conduct or use research on global change and its impacts on society, in support of the Nation's response to global change.

USGCRP is steered by the Subcommittee on Global Change Research (SGCR) of the National Science and Technology Council’s Committee on Environment, which is overseen by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

The SGCR coordinates interagency activities through the USGCRP National Coordination Office and 12 Interagency Groups


  • Dr. Maria Uhle - SGCR Chair, National Science Foundation

  • Dr. Gretchen Goldman - SGCR Vice Chair, Department of Transportation

  • Dr. Mike Kuperberg - Executive Director, USGCRP

  • Dr. Stacy Aguilera-Peterson - Deputy Director for Research, USGCRP

  • Dr. Julian Reyes - Deputy Director for Services, USGCRP

  • Allison Crimmins - Director, National Climate Assessment

  • Dr. Phillip Levin - Director, National Nature Assessment

SGCR Principals

  • Dr. John Balbus - Department of Health and Human Services

  • David Bascom - Department of Homeland Security (FEMA)

  • Ben DeAngelo - Department of Commerce (NOAA)

  • Dr. Rebecca Dodder - U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

  • Dr. Gerald Geernaert - Department of Energy

  • Dr. Gretchen Goldman - Department of Transportation

  • Dr. Noel Gurwick - U.S. Agency for International Development

  • William Hohenstein - U.S. Department of Agriculture

  • Dr. Kirk Johnson - Smithsonian Institution

  • Dr. Jack Kaye - National Aeronautics and Space Administration

  • Dr. Ben Petro - Department of Defense

  • Dr. Geoffrey Plumlee - Department of the Interior

  • Todd Richardson - U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

  • Trigg Talley - Department of State

  • Dr. Lisa Clough - National Science Foundation